Author Topic: Bug report - 4:3 content shown in letterbox on 4:3 TV  (Read 5915 times)

Offline dingo35

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
Bug report - 4:3 content shown in letterbox on 4:3 TV
« on: November 20, 2013, 14:42:22 »
The subject says it all : 4:3 content shown in letterbox on 4:3 TV.

Settings are 4:3 TV  and letterbox.


Offline MartenR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 789
    • View Profile
Re: Bug report - 4:3 content shown in letterbox on 4:3 TV
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2013, 07:12:21 »
Not enough details...
How is your TV connected..., what is the resolution etc..

Marten

Offline dingo35

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
Re: Bug report - 4:3 content shown in letterbox on 4:3 TV
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2013, 07:30:09 »
Hi Marten,

Sorry for that; my TV is connected through composite/PAL , so I guess resolution is standard PAL (768 x 572, some say 762 x 572)??

Best regards, Hans.

Offline winschrott

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Bug report - 4:3 content shown in letterbox on 4:3 TV
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2013, 11:19:49 »
Hi Marten,

had this problem, too. With my old TFT connected to the rasp. It was a 17" TFT, 1280x1024. 16:9 came out with black borders top/bottom, 4:3 with black borders all around. In settings, a 4:3-screen was defined. Can test it again if you want,  the old TFT is beside the actual 23" ;-) Both connected through HDMI -> DVI cable...

CU
winschrott

Offline MartenR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 789
    • View Profile
Re: Bug report - 4:3 content shown in letterbox on 4:3 TV
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2013, 07:36:32 »
I have looked in the code and remebered.
This is not implemented. Currently, there are only 16:9 tvs supported.
(Reason was a poor api for analog tv output of the raspberry pi and tv mode switching).

Since I have no 4:3 tv, I am not implementing this (no motivation for the poor composite quality of the raspberry, mvp is much better).
If someone, wants to provide a good patch to updateMode in videoomx. He is free to do so.

Marten

Offline svalavuo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • Personal homepage
    • Email
Re: Bug report - 4:3 content shown in letterbox on 4:3 TV
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2013, 08:52:30 »
Hi!

I'm not sure if this is what my RPi is suffering, but in one channel (viisi in finland) picture is cut from top and bottom. So for example it loses subtitles :)
Whole screen is used, but top and bottom are cut off.
My TV is 16:9 and I'm using HDMI.
Where can I get some helpful log to examine what is happening or to send someone (Marten?) who understands what's happening...
I guess this is something to do with channel provider. As far as I know, this happens only with that one channel (or at least I haven't watched any other channel suffering from this). Maybe they don't provide all information needed... Although VDR shows that channel correctly.

- Samuli
Samuli
vdr 2.0.3-3 + vompserver 0.4.0 + MediaMVP H4 + Raspberry Pi with vompclient

Offline MartenR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 789
    • View Profile
Re: Bug report - 4:3 content shown in letterbox on 4:3 TV
« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2013, 07:04:29 »
In order to understand it, I need a small test video.

Marten

Offline sirwio

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
    • View Profile
Re: Bug report - 4:3 content shown in letterbox on 4:3 TV
« Reply #7 on: December 31, 2013, 14:38:22 »
I got kind of the same results prior to commit df256d9401cf168b7e336522f6295b1ac91450c0 16:9 SD channels with the "16:9 on 4:3 display mode" set to "Chop sides"

Please check forum thread http://forum.loggytronic.com/index.php?topic=730.0


Hi!

I'm not sure if this is what my RPi is suffering, but in one channel (viisi in finland) picture is cut from top and bottom. So for example it loses subtitles :)
Whole screen is used, but top and bottom are cut off.
My TV is 16:9 and I'm using HDMI.
Where can I get some helpful log to examine what is happening or to send someone (Marten?) who understands what's happening...
I guess this is something to do with channel provider. As far as I know, this happens only with that one channel (or at least I haven't watched any other channel suffering from this). Maybe they don't provide all information needed... Although VDR shows that channel correctly.

- Samuli