Author Topic: I can't run it on the same machine as the vdr server?  (Read 8831 times)

Offline rdoac

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
I can't run it on the same machine as the vdr server?
« on: October 28, 2008, 13:02:58 »
qtvomp -p localhost
main: argument passed to app: "-p"
main: argument passed to app: "localhost"
MainWindow::MainWindow called
VDRThread::run started
VDRThread::eventLoopReady called
VDRThread::vdrFindServer called
VDRThread::waitForEventLoop started
VDRThread::waitForEventLoop ended
VDRThread::initVDRFindServer called
Binding to socket 3024 failed. Maybe you have a VDR instance running on this machine.

:-(

Or is there a way to make it work?

Offline muellerph

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: I can't run it on the same machine as the vdr server?
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2008, 13:08:05 »
Use the -p <ip-address> command line option when starting qtvomp.

update:

use the ip-address directly, not the name, as it doesn't resolve it.
./qtvomp -p 127.0.0.1

This is a limitation of vompserver at the moment (it blocks the port and only answers on this port).

No workaround possible from my side (at least not that I'm aware of).

Ok, now rethinking it: In case this port is blocked, the assumption that VDR is running on the box should be >99%.

So in the next version I will adjust the check so it then uses the localhost address by default (with a messagebox explaining it).
« Last Edit: October 28, 2008, 13:16:58 by muellerph »

Offline rdoac

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
Re: I can't run it on the same machine as the vdr server?
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2008, 06:56:10 »
The main issue is this:

Binding to socket 3024 failed. Maybe you have a VDR instance running on this machine.

It now is resolving the 127.0.0.1, but I can't connect as it's on the same machine.

Offline muellerph

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: I can't run it on the same machine as the vdr server?
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2008, 07:25:49 »
How about using the normal ip-address?

e.g. ./qtvomp -p 192.168.1.1

(I haven't tried the localhost address at home, but know the 192... works).

Maybe a firewall is also blocking the port (but this would look strange to me).

Offline Chris

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 537
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: I can't run it on the same machine as the vdr server?
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2008, 12:11:17 »
Isn't it "-s"? Or is that an earlier version of the code?

Offline muellerph

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: I can't run it on the same machine as the vdr server?
« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2008, 12:58:36 »
Isn't it "-s"? Or is that an earlier version of the code?
You are right and for me a brown paper bag.

-p was the first version, later I switched back to the same as vomp uses.

Chris,

may you update/fix the announcement?

The README is correct, but in the announcement it is wrong.

Offline Chris

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 537
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: I can't run it on the same machine as the vdr server?
« Reply #6 on: October 29, 2008, 14:46:57 »
Fixed.

Offline rdoac

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
Re: I can't run it on the same machine as the vdr server?
« Reply #7 on: October 29, 2008, 15:30:28 »
Ok, moving onwards....

qtvomp: symbol lookup error: qtvomp: undefined symbol: _ZN6Phonon11VideoWidget5eventEP6QEvent


But I have


*  media-sound/phonon
      Latest version available: 4.2.0
      Latest version installed: 4.2.0
      Size of files: 391 kB
      Homepage:      http://phonon.kde.org
      Description:   KDE multimedia API
      License:       LGPL-2.1


already compiled?

I'm running ~x86/gentoo


Offline muellerph

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: I can't run it on the same machine as the vdr server?
« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2008, 16:05:32 »
Please run

  ldd ./qtvomp

and to see what is missing.

Offline rdoac

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
Re: I can't run it on the same machine as the vdr server?
« Reply #9 on: October 29, 2008, 16:34:21 »
Hmmm, nothing obvious.

ldd /usr/bin/qtvomp
        linux-gate.so.1 =>  (0xb7eff000)         
        libphonon.so.4 => /usr/kde/4.0/lib/libphonon.so.4 (0xb7e81000)
        libQtGui.so.4 => /usr/lib/qt4/libQtGui.so.4 (0xb74a5000)     
        libpng12.so.0 => /usr/lib/libpng12.so.0 (0xb747f000)         
        libSM.so.6 => /usr/lib/libSM.so.6 (0xb7476000)               
        libICE.so.6 => /usr/lib/libICE.so.6 (0xb745d000)
        libXrender.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXrender.so.1 (0xb7453000)
        libXrandr.so.2 => /usr/lib/libXrandr.so.2 (0xb744a000)
        libfreetype.so.6 => /usr/lib/libfreetype.so.6 (0xb73b2000)
        libfontconfig.so.1 => /usr/lib/libfontconfig.so.1 (0xb737e000)
        libXext.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXext.so.6 (0xb736c000)
        libX11.so.6 => /usr/lib/libX11.so.6 (0xb7269000)
        libQtNetwork.so.4 => /usr/lib/qt4/libQtNetwork.so.4 (0xb7149000)
        libQtCore.so.4 => /usr/lib/qt4/libQtCore.so.4 (0xb6eb0000)
        libz.so.1 => /lib/libz.so.1 (0xb6e9b000)
        librt.so.1 => /lib/librt.so.1 (0xb6e92000)
        libpthread.so.0 => /lib/libpthread.so.0 (0xb6e7a000)
        libdl.so.2 => /lib/libdl.so.2 (0xb6e76000)
        libstdc++.so.6 => /usr/lib/gcc/i686-pc-linux-gnu/4.1.2/libstdc++.so.6 (0xb6d93000)
        libm.so.6 => /lib/libm.so.6 (0xb6d6c000)
        libgcc_s.so.1 => /usr/lib/gcc/i686-pc-linux-gnu/4.1.2/libgcc_s.so.1 (0xb6d61000)
        libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0xb6c2a000)
        libQtDBus.so.4 => /usr/lib/qt4/libQtDBus.so.4 (0xb6bb3000)
        libuuid.so.1 => /lib/libuuid.so.1 (0xb6bae000)
        libexpat.so.1 => /usr/lib/libexpat.so.1 (0xb6b82000)
        libXau.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXau.so.6 (0xb6b7e000)
        libXdmcp.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXdmcp.so.6 (0xb6b79000)
        /lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0xb7f00000)
        libdbus-1.so.3 => /usr/lib/libdbus-1.so.3 (0xb6b3e000)
        libQtXml.so.4 => /usr/lib/qt4/libQtXml.so.4 (0xb6aec000)

Offline muellerph

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: I can't run it on the same machine as the vdr server?
« Reply #10 on: October 29, 2008, 17:07:18 »
        libphonon.so.4 => /usr/kde/4.0/lib/libphonon.so.4 (0xb7e81000)
This looks like Phonon < 4.2.
Phonon 4.2. was shipped with KDE 4.1.
In KDE 4.0 the version had issues i.e. with the videowidget. And that's what the issue looks like
"_ZN6Phonon11VideoWidget5eventEP6QEvent"

So it seems it uses an older version of Phonon on your machine.


Offline rdoac

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
Re: I can't run it on the same machine as the vdr server?
« Reply #11 on: October 29, 2008, 18:25:18 »
I moved the libraries out of the way and found I had another newer set in /usr/lib

all working now.. Thanks..